State Flag of South Carolina (1861)

     This flag owes its origin to the American Revolution (1775-1783), when Col. (later Brig. Gen.) William Moultrie's (23 November 1730-27 September 1805) design of a crescent on a blue field was accepted as the new state banner. On 28 June 1776, Moultrie and his men made a brave stand in a palmetto log fort on Sullivan's Island, near Charleston. Hence, the addition of the palm tree. After several years of no official recognition by the state government, the flag fell out of use. Following the passage of the secession ordinance, South Carolina re-adopted it on 28 January 1861, and it is still in use today.

Ordinance of Secession of South Carolina
(Passed at St. Andrew's Hall in Charleston on 20 December 1860, by a unanimous vote of 169-0.)

to dissolve the union between the State of South Carolina and other States united with her under the compact entitled "The Constitution of the United States of America."

We, the people of the State of South Carolina, in Convention assembled, do declare and ordain, and it is hereby declared and ordained, That the ordinance adopted by us in Convention on the twenty-third day of May, in the year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and eighty-eight, whereby the Constitution of the United States of America was ratified, and also all acts and parts of acts of the General Assembly of this State ratifying amendments of the said Constitution, are hereby repealed; and that the union now subsisting between South Carolina and other States, under the name of the "United States of America," is hereby dissolved.

Done at Charleston the twentieth day of December, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and sixty.

South Carolina Secession Convention Officers
(District of representation is in parentheses.)


David Flavel Jamison (BARNWELL)


Benjamin Franklin Arthur (UNION)

South Carolina Secession Convention Delegates
(To assist in completing full names contact the Historian.)



John Alfred Calhoun, Sr.
Edward Noble
Thomas Chiles Perrin
Thomas Thomson
David Lewis Wardlaw
John Harris Wilson

James Chesnut, Jr.
Joseph Brevard Kershaw
Thomas Jefferson Withers



Benjamin Franklin Mauldin, Sr.
James Lawrence Orr
Jacob Pinckney Reed
Richard Franklin Simpson
Joseph Newton Whitner, Sr.

William Columbus Cauthen
Robert Lafayette Crawford
David Pressley Robinson



Lewis Malone Ayer, Jr.
Joseph Josiah Brabham
William Peronneau Finley
Benjamin William Lawton

Henry William Garlington
William Dendy Watts
Thomas Wier III
John Drayton Williams
Henry Clinton Young



Prince William's Parish

Henry Isaac Caughman
John Conrad Geiger
Paul Quattlebaum

John Edward Frampton
William Ferguson Hutson

St. Helena's Parish

Robert Woodward Barnwell
Joseph Daniel Pope

St. Luke's Parish

Richard James Davant
Ephraim Mikell Seabrook

St. Peter's Parish

Langdon Cheves, Jr.
George Rhodes



Christ Church Parish

Alfred Walker Bethea
Chesley Daniel Evans, Sr.
William Wallace Harllee
William Baker Rowell

Peter Porcher Bonneau
William Pinkney Shingler

St. Andrew's Parish

Alexander Henry Brown
Ephraim Mikell Clark

St. James' Parish,
Goose Creek

Charles P. Brown
John M. Shingler

St. James' Parish,

Daniel DuPre
Alexander Mazyck

St. John's Parish,

William Cain
Peter Gaillard Snowden

St. John's Parish,

John Jenkins
George Washington Seabrook, Sr.

St. Philip's &
St. Michael's Parish

Andrew William Burnet II
Henry Workman Conner
Richard de Treville
Robert Newman Gourdin
Thomas Middleton Hanckel
Isaac William Hayne
John Henry Honour
Andrew Gordon Magrath
Gabriel Manigault
Edward McCrady
Christopher Gustavus Memminger
Williams Middleton
William Porcher Miles
Francis James Porcher
Robert Barnwell Rhett, Sr.
F.D. Richardson
Benjamin Huger Rutledge II
Thomas Young Simons
John Julius Pringle Smith
Leonidas William Spratt
John F. Townsend
Theodore Dehon Wagner

St. Stephen's Parish

Theodore Lewis Gourdin
John Saunders Palmer

St. Thomas' &
St. Dennis' Parish

John Lascelles Nowell
John S. O'Hear



Alexander Q. Dunovant
John McKee
Thomas Wade Moore
Richard Woods

Ebenezer Wescot Goodwin
William D. Johnson
Alexander McLeod



John Auchincloss Inglis
Stephen Jackson
Henry McIver

Joseph Caldwell
Simeon Fair
John Pinkney Kinard
Robert Moorman



John I. Ingram
John Lawrence Manning
John Peter Richardson II

Orange Parish

Donald Rowe Barton
Thomas Worth Glover
Lawrence Massillon Keitt

St. Matthew's Parish

Artemas Thomson Darby
John Jacob Wannamaker



St. Barholomew's Parish

William S. Grisham
William Hunter
Andrew F. Lewis
John Maxwell
Robert Anderson Thompson

Eustace St. Pierre Bellinger
Merrick Ezra Carn
Edward R. Henderson
Peter Stokes

St. George's Parish,

David Clinton Appleby
Daniel Flud

St. Paul's Parish

Joseph Evans Jenkins
Elias Ball Scott



Edgar Wells Charles
Julius Alfred Dargan
John Morgan Timmons
Isaac Delesseline Wilson

James Hopkins Adams, Sr.
William Ford DeSaussure
Maxcy Gregg
William Hopkins
John H. Kinsler



James Parsons Carroll
Robert Gill Mills Dunovant
William Gregg
Andrew Jackson Hammond
James C. Smyly
James Tompkins
Francis Hugh Wardlaw

Simpson Bobo
James Henry Carlisle
William Curtis
Barham Bobo Foster
Benjamin Franklin Kilgore
John G. Landrum



John Buchanan
Henry Campbell Davis
William Strother Lyles
John Hugh Means

Thomas Reese English, Sr.
Henry Davis Green
Matthew P. Mayes
Albertus Chambers Spain



All Saints Parish

James M. Gadberry
William Henry Gist
James Jefferies
Joseph S. Sims

John Izard Middleton, Sr.
Benjamin Eason Sessions

Prince George's Parish,

Samuel Taylor Atkinson
Benjamin Faneuil Dunkin
Alexius Mador Forster
Francis Simons Parker, Sr.



William H. Campbell
Perry Emory Duncan
William King Easley
James Clement Furman
James Harrison

Anthony White Dozier, Sr.
Richard C. Logan
John Gotea Pressley



Thomas Wilson Beaty
William J. Ellis

Robert Turner Allison
Archibald Ingram Barron
Samuel Rainey
Andrew Baxter Springs, Sr.
William Blackburn Wilson

Resources     Privacy Statement     Copyright Issues & Website Disclaimer     Contact Page
The Confederate War Department 2000-2014